top of page

Sorority National History

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 300,000 predominately Black college educated women. This includes over 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, West Africa, Southern African, United Arab Emirates and the Republic of Korea.

The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust:

  • Economic Development

  • Physical and Mental Health

  • Educational Development

  • Political Awareness and Involvement

  • International Awareness and Involvement

For more information, visit our national website at

DST Charter Members Photo.jpg
bottom of page